Welcome to my site


Category : Debate

AMU’s All India Sir Syed Memorial Debate 2017 [16-17 April]: Register by April 13

person DateApril 11, 2017





The Aligarh Muslim University holds a rich literary & cultural tradition. To carry forward those traditions, The AMU Students Union & The University Debating and literary Club (UDLC) is organizing its prestigious All India Sir Syed Memorial Debate Competition (AISSMD) on 16th & 17th April 2017 in English, Hindi & Urdu respectively.


16th & 17th April 2017


Motion for AISSMD 2017


The All India Sir Syed Memorial Debate 2017 will be conducted in English, Hindi & Urdu respectively. Institutions may send one team of two students in each language or all of them.

Awards, Travel Advice, Rules 

Find it here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BxIltb0B72dGbl9mX1BjN2Y0Q0k


Kindly fill in the registration form available here & email the scanned copy to us on aissmd2017@gmail.com on or before 13th April 2017. No registration fee.


It will be our pleasure and honor to host talented students from  your esteemed institution. Last year we saw an overwhelming response for this debate and are looking forward to a similar participation in this edition of the All India Sir Syed Memorial Debate Competition.

3rd Subharti & Unmukt Bharat National Debate Competition 2017 [April 22, Meerut]

person DateApril 5, 2017


We are pleased to announce that, Moot Court Association, Sardar Patel Subharti Institute of Law & Unmukt Bharat are jointly organising its 3rd National Debate Competition-2017-

Time: 9:00 am

Date: 22nd April, 2017

Venue: Sardar Patel Hall, Faculty OF Law, SVSU, Meerut.

Topic: Is Women in India Living a Dignified Life?

You are requested to send a team from your esteemed Institute/ University to participate in this event. Each team would consist of two speakers- one speaker in favour of the motion and another against the motion. Each participant would be given five minutes.

Please feel free to contact us for any clarification at:

Email: mca.svsu@gmail.com ,law@subharti.org

(M)  8439801911- Mrs. Afreen Almas , Asst Prof. , Sardar Patel Subharti Institute of Law             9639010553- Mr Anuj Kumar, National Secretary, Unmukt Bharat      

The rules of the competition are here. Registration Form is here.


IIT Bombay Inter Varsity Debate Tournament 2017 [22-24 September]: Registration Opens May 15

person DateApril 3, 2017

IIT Bombay Debate 2017

The 9th edition of IIT Bombay Inter Varsity Debate Tournament will be held at the Powai campus from 22nd September to 24th September, 2017.

This tournament is based on the British Parliamentary Debate format which has two speakers in each team with four teams in each round competing against each other.

To learn more about this format of Parliamentary debating you can go here

The tournament is open to cross teams with no bar on the stream of education as well as international colleges for participation.

Debate and adjudication workshops will be taken by internationally renowned debaters during the tournament for teaching advanced skills in debating and adjudication to all participants.

Like previous editions you can be sure of a stellar line up of chief adjudicators and a substantial adjudication subsidy budget to ensure that there are good judges in every room.

Registration fee:

Rs.1500 per person without accommodation and Rs. 2500 per person with accommodation.

First Round of registrations begin on 15th May and end on 15th June.

Subsidized Adjudicators are also invited, with the subsidy covering registration fee, accommodation and travel.

To apply for the same, please e-mail your debate credentials to wespeakiitbombay@gmail.com

For any further queries, contact:
+91 88282 91001 (Aditya Pandey | Secretary)
+91 99302 35390

To receive updates about the IIT Bombay Debate 2017, follow the Facebook group here.

SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law, Mumbai: Inter-College Debate Competition [April 8]: Register by April 3

person DateMarch 30, 2017


SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law is organising a one day Debate Competition under the “Constitutional Law and Policy Reforms Society” on April 8, 2017 in the college premises.

TOPIC :  “NJAC is necessary to maintain Judicial Accountability in India”.
Registration process
  • Participation is restricted to the first sixteen (16) teams on a first come first serve basis.
  • Registration fee is Rs 500 payable by Demand Draft (DD) in favour of “Pravin Gandhi College of Law”.
  • The participating colleges must send the duly filled registration form with the team details along with the DD on or before  April 3, 2017 to Pravin Gandhi College of Law, 8th Floor, Mithibai Campus, Vile Parle (West), Mumbai – 400056.
  • Also email a soft copy of the form to pgcldebate@gmail.com with the subject “Debate- CLPRS”.

In case of further clarifications, send an email to pgcldebate@gmail.com.

You can also contact: Sanjana Sen (+91 9820512396) & Suhani Merchant (+91 8108311131) (Core Members, CLPRS).

Important links

  • The official invite of the event is available here.
  • The rules and regulations of the CLPRS Debate are available here.
  • The registration form is available here.

CMR Law School’s Parliamentary Debate Competition 2017 [April 12-13, Bangalore]

person DateMarch 29, 2017



We are delighted to invite the students from your esteemed institution, to participate in the inaugural edition of the CMR Law School’s Parliamentary Debate Competition, 2017.

This Competition is an academic debate competition designed to provide student debaters with the opportunity to debate on topics of current importance with emphasis placed on content and delivery rather than on preparation and research.

The objective is to focus on the art of academic debating as a means of developing the key skills of argumentation and rhetoric. We hope that the event provides a forum for fledgling debaters to showcase their skill and expertise.

It would be our privilege to witness the brilliance of students from your institution, to add to the overall splendor of this forum.

DATES: 12th and 13th of April, 2017

VENUE: CMR Law School, Bangalore.

FORMAT: Asian Parliamentary format [3 speakers per team plus one adjudicator]


FOOD: Food will be provided on the days of the event.

ACCOMMODATION: No accommodation will be provided.

For all updates, you are requested to follow the official FB page of Loquitur (CMR Law School’s Debate and MUN club).


Nidhi – 8861851573

Chantal – 9980100159

Poster for the Debate Competition.

Debate brochure is here.

Law College Dehradun’s Debate Competition ‘Concours de Debat’ [April 20-21]: Register by March 25

person DateMarch 29, 2017


Concours de Debat” is a national level debate competition being conducted under the auspices of the Debating Society at the Law College Dehradun faculty of Uttaranchal University from 20th to 21st April, 2017.

Topic: 21st century nationalism is breeding political jingoism in India.

Last date for Registration: 25th March, 2017

The official website is accessible from this Link.

Rules of Concours de Debat:

The speakers shall come to the podium in a team where one shall speak in favor of the motion while the other shall speak against the motion.

Each speaker shall be allotted a total time limit of 5 minutes (4 + 1) where the last-minute shall be given to conclude the speech.

The answer to the rebuttal shall not exceed 1 minute.


Running Trophy Best Team

Both in English and Hindi

Cash Prizes Worth 61k.


  • Faculty Chairperson: Mrs. V. Bhuvaneshwari- 9719967883
  • Sumojeet Basu, COORDINATOR, 8193973630
  • Anjan Sahu, CONVENOR, +91 9634587160

For Registrations please click HERE.  

For Rules of the competition and debate, please click HERE.